What Hypnosis is & its 6 Levels

What Hypnosis is & its 6 Levels

Most people who are unfamiliar with hypnosis think that it is  – “like what they see on the telly!!”  – well it’s not.

Let me explain.  Hypnosis is similar to daydreaming or meditation, in essence an altered state of awareness, or indeed a lovely state of relaxation, which then creates a relaxed subconscious state of mind.  In this relaxed state, the subconscious mind is open to receiving helpful and beneficial suggestions, thus enabling you to reach your desired goal.

Hypnotherapy works provided it is within your core beliefs and principles.  In other words hypnotherapy cannot make you do something you really don’t want to do.  It is not brainwashing nor a magic wand.

Many people have said to me “Oh I can’t be hypnotised; I don’t want to loose control, or I’m not susceptible enough.

If you can daydream; if you can go off into your own little world; if you, say leave home and when you arrive at your destination you don’t remember your journey and how you got to your destination,  well that’s self-hypnosis, so yes you can be hypnotised.  But most important of all though, is that you are in total control during the entire time of your treatment and you can terminate your session at any time.

Hypnotherapy is a safe, relaxing and enjoyable experience.

There are many different scales used to ‘measure the hypnotic state’. So I’m going to go through a simple 1 – 6 scale.


Level 1 Hypnoidal

So light you don’t feel hypnotised.  In fact you feel completely awake.   However much can be accomplished even in the 1st level, such as weight reduction, smoking cessation etc.

Level 2

 You are more relaxed, light relaxation and your larger muscle groups can be manipulated. Eyelid Catalepsy and Arm Catalepsy.  

Level 3

Fairly complete control of entire muscular system (if told). Cannot rise from chair, cannot walk, won’t be able to articulate a number, nor remember it! Partial Analgesia.

Most Stage Hypnotists will not work with a subject unless they are in at least a Level Three. In most cases, the first three levels are really the only ones with which most Clinical Hypnotherapists need to work with.

Level 4

Beginning of Amnesic stages. Starting to produce much greater phenomena. You will actually forget a number, name etc. Glove Analgesia (used for pain control) – You will not feel pain, but will feel touch. Most dental work and minor surgery can be performed in Level 4   (You would still feel air rushing into incision, but no pain).

Level 5

Beginning of Somnambulism. Complete amnesia. You will feel neither pain nor touch. Positive hallucinations. See / hear things which do not exist.

Level 6

Profound Somnambulism. Negative hallucinations. Effects senses of sight / hearing negatively. Will not see / hear things which actually do exist.


I hope the above has been of help to you to understand a little bit more about the wonderful state of hypnosis.

And of course I’m always at the end of a phone  or email to answer any of your questions.






5 thoughts on “What Hypnosis is & its 6 Levels”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign-up to Our Newsletter

Don’t miss out! Receive our fabulous weekly newsletter showcasing our trusted businesses, events, offers and blogs. We’ll also send you information about our upcoming networking events.

Join our Facebook group facebook.com/groups/laurelleafnetworking